Home » Books » Book Review: Divergent

Book Review: Divergent

So I fell for it folks.  I got myself entrapped in the latest YA dystopian trilogy to be taking the world by storm, complete with its own full length film. Yes, that’s right, I read Divergent.

Now, I was not very excited to jump on this band wagon. I have been led astray by many  “band wagon” books in the past (Twilight, City of Bones).  But, my fellow bibliophile friends assured me it was worth the read, and they have been patiently awaiting the arrival of the movie adaptation.

I purchased my copy of Veronica Roth’s Divergent while still finishing another book, so I planned on holding off on reading it until I was finished. However,  I wanted to see what I was in for, so I quickly read the first chapter.

I thought this chapter would set the tone for the rest of the book, and I was not pleased.  I immediately felt that Divergent was to be a rip off of The Giver and The Hunger Games. But again, my friends pleaded that I give it a shot.  So, I read it.

If you can put all your favorite dystopian novels aside and be open minded, then you might enjoy this book.  The main character of Beatrice (Tris), is actually well developed. You quickly start to root for her as she endures the mentally and physically taxing process of faction initiation. Some of the challenges she faces can even seem fun and exciting, if you are the adrenaline junkie type. But, just beware that the first chapter is not the only part of the book bearing similarities to other well known dystopian YA, especially The Giver (although I have read The Giver so many times and love it so much I could probably see it in Little Women at this point!).

The book is an easy read, as you find yourself flipping the pages rather quickly trying to find out how Tris decide between the many choices she has to make.  The book ends in way that is sort of predictable, but that comes with knowing that there are  subsequent books.

Overall I would give this book 3 1/2 stars on a scale of 5. It is not the best of its kind, but it was addictive enough that I finished it quickly, grew to want to know about the characters, and will most likely be reading the rest of the books in the trilogy.

One thought on “Book Review: Divergent

Leave a Reply

