Home » Beauty and Style » Fashion Review: The 2017 Golden Globes

Fashion Review: The 2017 Golden Globes

I have been wanting to add some new material to this blog, and since TBT Vinyl is on hiatus (my record player went belly up! But a new one is in the works.), I felt it was a good time to introduce something. I have always wanted to write about fashion, but wasn’t sure how to start. So with the Golden Globes kicking off awards season last night, I thought I would start there!

The Golden Globes is an interesting awards show, because the dress code falls somewhere between putting on the Ritz (aka the Oscars) and arrival night at The Bachelor mansion. Stars don’t want to break out their best and brightest, but they still need to try and be on point…key word there is try.

I think I shall start from the bottom and work my way to the top, beginning with those that should probably reassess how much they are paying their stylists.

1)  Michelle Williams

Ruth Negga

Ok, girl, you are in one of the hottest movies right now. And, all I can say is while the movie may be Manchester by the Sea, this get-up looks more reminiscent of something one would find in another Massachusetts town… Plymouth.. actually Plymouth Plantation. Please, save this sexy (?) pilgrim look for Thanksgiving, or lay it out and use it as the Thanksgiving table cloth, but don’t try and tell me this is attractive.

 

2) Carrie Underwood

Ruth Negga

Carrie, beautiful Carrie. What happened? You are usually flawless, always rocking something sleek and shimmery. This, while right off the bat does noting for your figure, then culminates in collar that has me almost lost for words. Wilting radishes? Melting strawberry ice cream cone? Molting flamingo? I’m not sure, but It was not right. Your hair, your make up BEAYOOOUTIFUL! This dress, no.

3) Sienna Miller

Ruth Negga

Oh, pardon us Sienna Miller, we were not aware that your Soul Cycle class was scheduled for the same time as the red carpet! I mean, that has to be the only excuse for this. You can’t see it from here, but her hair was literally held up with a thick black string, and actually most of it was falling out. The dress, looks like she could have taken some scissors to a terry cloth spa robe and made this in the car ride over. It is overall too casual. But wait! Some pearls will dress it up! Nope, sorry. Thanks for trying (or not!).

4) Sarah Jessica Parker

Image result for Sarah Jessica Parker Golden Globes

It pains me that I must insult this woman. She is one of my style icons, and typically her grace and poise are exquisite. But this, this is unforgivable. OK, I could almost forgive the dress, almost. But that hair! It looks like a combination of a wreath and antlers. Add it to the dress and she looks like a Christmas tree topper. Or perhaps her next role is in a Shakespearean play? All I know is that SJP needs either a new stylist, some new friends, or a new mirror, because one of the 3 failed her in telling her this was acceptable.

5) Winona Ryder

Image result for winona ryder golden globes 2017

Poor Winona Ryder looks like she is lost on her way to the saddest prom ever. The shape and style of this gown just reminds me of every 12th grade girl’s attempt to feel like a pretty princess (not excluding myself!). The fit is completely wrong, as there are more wrinkles in that corset than on Donald Trump’s frowny face after hearing Meryl Streep’s speech. This could have some redemption if she made any attempt to accessorize. And, if you tell me that purse is an accessory, then I will show you the receipt from the last 10 for $5 sale I went to at Claire’s back in 1997 where I purchased the same thing. Winona, you haven’t had a moment in awhile. Coming out to awards season for Stranger Things could have been it…but then you wore this.

 

Whew! Now for the good ones!

1) Emma Stone

Image result for emma stone golden globes

Ah, Emma Stone! Never failing to bring true Hollywood glamour in a modern and effervescent way.  Light and airy just like it appears her spirit must be. I wish her hair was a tad more put together, but over all, a glimmering breath of fresh air.

2) Kerry Washington

Image result for kerry washington golden globes 2017

Kerry Washington, thank you! You took a risk without looking bizarre! This dress is warrior chic without looking like a suite of armor. This is warrior chic lace people! Only Olivia Pope could make this dream a reality. Her figure looks beautiful her hair is on point, her shoes are stunning. She is rocking this H2T!

3) Drew Barrymore

Image result for drew barrymore golden globes 2017

What I have always loved about Drew Barrymore is she always  stays true to herself when it comes to personal style. She always pulls of a bohemian, free-spirit vibe with ease and class. This dress is no exception. On the carpet she simply floated when she walked and just looked like she was enjoying every moment. Which in a dress like that, how can you not! You go Drew!

4) Evan Rachel Wood

Image result for evan rachel wood golden globes

On each new red carpet, everyone is looking for “the moment,” the look that when you think Golden Globes 2017 you automatically remember. I think Evan Rachel Wood’s tux will be that. And it’s not just because its a tux, because there were plenty of stunning dresses, but this was a whole look. The fit was superb, her hair was sleek, and her make up was flawless. This look provided more glamour than most of the gowns that graced the carpet, without a single stitch of sequin or tulle. Like Drew, she also appeared to be very relaxed and enjoying every moment, which helps make the whole package even more memorable.

5) Kristen Bell

Image result for kristen bell golden globes 2017

By far, the greatest moment of the night was Kristen Bell. This was a gown like I have never seen. It was the perfect about of glitter and svelte-ness. It was smooth and sleek, yet sharp at the same time. Every inch looked like it had been melted onto her body. And while most could not pull off that neckline, all I can say is WORK IT KRISTEN! Beyond the dress her hair and makeup shine as bright as the smile on her face. It was all just so stunning that I feel like someone should commission a portrait of it.

Well, that’s all I have for the Golden Globes. I have no commentary on who won or lost, because I really don’t pay too much attention to the awards themselves. I just come for the carpet.

Leave a Reply

